My Kids Are Jerks

My kids are jerks. Yes you read that right. Now, before you get your panties all in a bunch, I’ll start off by saying how much I truly love my children. They are my reasons for being. I’ve always wanted to be a mom,  and it really is the best thing I’ve ever done. I wouldn’t be me without them.

But man, can they be jerks.

What makes a child a jerk?  Let’s look at the meaning of the word jerk. Webster’s definition of jerk reads as: [slang] a person regarded as disagreeable, contemptible, etc. esp as the result of foolish or mean behavior. This pretty much describes my kids about 75% of the time. I’m guessing this describes most kids at one time or another.  These tiny humans are not only jerks to their parents, but to their friends as well! Is it any wonder why we continue to be jerks to each other as adults? We’ve had a lot of practice!

Just to make things interesting, there are different types of jerks. When my daughter tells her little sister that nobody loves her, she’s being a cruel jerk. When my other daughter draws all over her big sister’s artwork and stories, she’s being an annoying jerk.  When we’re trying to do something fun as a family, and both of them refuse to stop fighting and screaming at each other, they are being ungrateful jerks. If we do something special for one, the other throws a fit and does whatever they can to sabotage it…. jealous jerk. They  act like selfish jerks when I ask them to hang out with their baby sister for 15 minutes so I can take a shower or eat something, and they just whine and complain and ignore her.

So my kids are jerks. Maybe I wouldn’t have to write a blog about my kids being jerky, if they acted like decent humans more often than not. But my kids are jerks everyday without fail. And I’m sure they’ll be jerks as adults. But if I can get them to act like decent humans more often than not as adults, then I will call that a success.

In the meantime, I try to look beyond my children’s nasty behavior to see that deep down, they really aren’t jerks…. just kids, trying to find their place in this world and figure out who they are, making mistakes and hopefully learning something in the process. They really do love each other immensely, and lean on each other when they need to. My heart soars when I hear them giggling together, or working on a project together, or just snuggling on the couch. I even smile when they team up against Mom and Dad…. at least they’re being jerks together.

 

Leave a Reply

